The Tamale Metropolitan Assembly has been without a presiding member since March following the expiration of the tenure of office of the incumbent presiding member, Hon. Mohammed Alhassan, member for the Nakpanzo electoral area.
At a special meeting held today,18th October, 2022,the Assembly duly elected a Presiding Member for the House. This followed a number of failed attempts in previous meetings.

At the close of nomination, two (2) persons filed to contest the Presiding Member, PM position. The 62-member Assembly failed to secure a Victor after first round of voting. Hon. Abubakari Issah polled 41 in the first round with his contender, Hon. Sulemana Alhassan trailing with 16 votes. Both failed to hit the 2/3 mark. A candidate needed to poll 42 votes to meet the two-thirds requirements. At the end of the second round of voting, Hon. Abubakari Issah polled 45 to have been deemed elected. Delivering his victory speech, Hon. Abubakari Issah thanked his colleagues for the confidence reposed in him. He assured the House of an open door administration which makes it possible to collate views from across stakeholders in decision making process. He promised among other things, to mobilize his colleagues to take steps to improve revenue generation effort to accelerate development in the metropolis. He will be sworn in office later tomorrow, since a judge was not immediately available to administer the various oaths.

Hon. Abubakari was subsequently sworn in by the magistrate of the Tamale Circuit Court, His worship Issifu Amadu.


Previous Bus Rapid Transit Services Operationalised in Tamale*

Leave Your Comment